Board Members

Manouchehr Farkhondeh, President

Dr. Manouchehr Farkhondeh is a physicist at U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science. He joined DOE in 2006 as a Program Manager for Advanced Technology Research and Development (R&D) for Office of Nuclear Physics. His past appointments include a postdoctoral position at University of Virginia and a staff scientist at MIT Bates Linear Accelerator Center.  Prior to joining DOE, he held a Principal Research Scientist position at MIT and was the Division Head of Physics and Accelerator at the accelerator center. Concurrently, He also was an Adjunct lecturer at Merrimack College in Massachusetts teaching physics. Dr. Farkhondeh is a member of American Physical Society.

Dr. Farkhondeh received his Ph.D. in experimental nuclear physics from MIT in 1984, and a B.S degree in Physics from Tehran University. Dr. Farkhondeh has published over sixty peer-reviewed papers in scientific journals and in proceedings of international conferences.  His technical expertise includes particle accelerators as tools for discovery sciences to study subatomic properties of matter, and applications of particle detection techniques and particle accelerators for societal needs such as medical diagnostics and treatment, and cargo screening.  Dr. Farkhondeh’s scientific interest is in experimental medium energy nuclear physics, including properties of few-body systems, the use of polarized electrons to test weak interaction theories, and study nuclear and nucleon structure.

Aram Hessami, Vice President for Planning

Dr. Aram Hessami is a professor of Political Science and Philosophy at Montgomery College in Rockville Maryland. He received his Doctorate in Political Science from The George Washington University in 1993. Dr. Hessami’s specialization is in Western Political Thought.His Dissertation is on Democracy & Postmodern Thinking. Since September 11, he is the Middle East expert for WRNR radio in Martinsburg West Virginia.Dr. Hessami also is a News Analyst for The Voice of America Television based in Washington D.C.His writing and research focus on modern political theory and comparative politics.

Jamal Rostami, Secretary

Dr. Rostami is the founder of Iranian Academic Association (IAA), Washington DC chapter. He has over 18 years of experience in design, management, research, and teaching in the field of mining, tunneling, civil infrastructure, and underground construction. He is specialized in advanced and mechanized tunneling systems including TBM, Roadheaders, coal and industrial mineral excavation machinery and shaft/raise boring machines. He has been involved in projects varying from feasibility study to design, execution, and post construction analysis and claim. He has worked on various mining and tunneling projects as a consultant, holding positions as senior tunnel/geotechnical engineer with companies including CMD, Brierley Associates and Jenny Engineering. He is currently a faculty of Pennsylvania State University , working as assistant professor of Mining, in the department of Energy and Mineral Engineering at University Park, PA. His prior academic activities include faculty of Engineering (Fanni) at the University of Tehran and Colorado School of Mines (CSM).  Dr. Rostami is a registered Professional Engineering (PE) in Maryland, Virginia and Pennsylvania. He has published over 54 papers and many technical reports as well as many presentations in professional conferences. He has a BSc in Mining Engineering from University of Tehran and MSc and PhD in Mining Engineering CSM. He is a member of SME, ASCE, ARMA, TRB AFF-60 Tunneling Committee, University of Tehran Alumni Association, Iranian Mining Engineering, tunneling and Rock Mechanic Societies.

Yasaman Ardeshirpour, Vice President for Meeting Coordination

Dr. Yasaman Ardeshirpour obtained her B.Sc. and M.Sc. from Tehran University in Electrical Engineering – Electronics and Digital Communications. She received her Ph.D. in Electrical/Biophotonics Engineering from University of Connecticut in 2010. Her Ph.D. research mainly focused on improving the light quantification of near infrared diffused optical tomography with ultrasound localization for breast cancer patients.

Currently, she is postdoctoral fellow at National Institutes of Health. She is involved in several clinical and pre-clinical studies and her main research is on in-vivo time-resolved fluorescence/optical imaging in personalized cancer therapy and diagnostics. She has several peer-reviewed journal publications and presented at various conferences.

Advisory Board

Dr. Mohsen Mosleh
Dr. Jamal Rostami
Dr. Mali Naghavi

Former Board Members…